CHR

CENTER FOR HUMAN RIGHTS


About Human Rights

Human Rights are the inherent of all human beings, irrespective of one’s nationality, place of residence, sex, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, language, or any other status. We are all equally entitled to our human rights without discrimination. These rights are all interrelated, interdependent and indivisible.

The Widespread Affirmation of Human Rights (UDHR) is a non-restricting announcement received by the Unified Countries General Assembly in 1948, somewhat because of the boorishness of World War II. The UDHR urged part countries to advance various human, common, financial and social rights, declaring these rights are a piece of the "establishment of flexibility, equity and peace on the planet".

Universal Human Rights are often expressed and guaranteed by law, in the forms of treaties, conventions, customary international law, general principles and other sources of international law. International Human Rights Law lays down obligations of Governments to act in certain ways or to refrain from certain acts, in order to promote and protect human rights and fundamental freedoms of individuals or groups.


Major issues concerning the Human Rights:

1. Human Rights of persons with disabilities.

2. Gender Justice and Human Rights.

3. Vulnerability faced by the aged and disabled people.

4. Human Rights of Tribal and Indigenous People.

5. Women’s Rights

6. Human Rights and Racial Discrimination.

7. Rights of Minorities.

8. Human Rights and the Environment.

9. Child Trafficking and sexual abuse

10. Preservation of cultural identities and sub-national groups.

11. Access to Justice for Victims & Witnesses.

12. Rights of Prison Inmates

13. Refugee Crisis: Ethnic Conflict and Forced Displacement

14. Stateless Person and Citizenship

15. International standards on security issues in conflict zones: Humanitarian Perspective.

16. Terrorism; Counter Terrorism and Law enforcement abuses

17. State Surveillance and Data Protection.

18. Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity.

19. Labour Rights

20. Restrictions on Freedom of Speech and Expression.


Objectives of the Centre:

  • To conduct research on the various sub-fields of Human Rights.
  • To function as a resource Centre in the field of Human Rights.
  • To undertake activities that enhances the field of Human Rights.
  • To develop among the students the basic understanding of the Human Rights.
  • To make them instrumental in championing the cause of Human Rights.
  • To spread awareness among the general masses regarding their basic Human Rights through conferences, seminars, workshops, discussions, etc.
  • The Centre for Human Rights was established in the year 2017 with the motto, “Towards an Amicable tomorrow…” In its endeavor in protection of human rights across the country, the members of the Centre have taken innumerable initiatives to promote Human Rights violations. Some of these events include:

  • National Essay Writing Competition on Terrorism in 2017
  • Tribal Research conducted in Nilgiri Hills on five native tribes in 2018
  • Colloquial address by Justice Rajashekar Reddy, Telangana High Court on the emerging dimensions in 2018
  • A visit to the Rohingya Refugee Camp situated in Balapur, Hyderabad and research was conducted in collaboration with Edinborough University, USA in 2018
  • A discussion on the prospects of law in UAE in August 2018
  • Organized a Two Day National Conference on Exploring Contemporary Women Right Issues in India”, 15th and 16th February 2019
  • Organized a Two Day National Conference on Uniform Civil Code on 18th and 19th January 2020
  • Conducted legal drafting competition on Uniform Civil Code in 2018
  • Conducted an in-house article writing competition on the theme of Human Trafficking in August 2019
  • Attended a conference on Refugees conducted by UNHRC on the eve of International Refugee Day
  • Conducted an interactive session with Dr. Shyamala Gogu on Jogini System and status of Joginis in the society
  • Initiated weekly discussions on contemporary legal issues such as – Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, National Register of Citizens, POCSO Amendment Bill 2019, UAPA, etc.

Faculty-in-Charge

  • Mr. Ahmar Afaq, Assistant Professor

Email :

ahmar.afaq@slsh.edu.in



List of Student


SNO

NAME OF THE STUDENT

EMAIL-ID

CONTACT NO.

1

Ayushi Mishra

ayushi.mishra@slsh.edu.in

8466859684

2

Sweta Mishra

sweta.mishra@slsh.edu.in

8328818797

3

Kumkum Mandhanya

kumkum.mandhanya@slsh.edu.in

9907037286

4

Meghna Saxena

meghna.saxena@slsh.edu.in

7417944869

5

Sakshi Mehra

sakshi.mehra@slsh.edu.in

9967920009

6

Mehjabeen Haider

mehjabeen.haider@slsh.edu.in

9573028991

7

Rupal Chhaya

rupal.chhaya@student.slsh.edu.in

8106423733

8

Mahee Vohra

mahee.vohra@student.slsh.edu.in

9920070016

9

Manasvi Shukla

manasvi.shukla@student.slsh.edu.in

7520296550

10

Mohd. Abdul Yousuf

abdul.mohd@student.slsh.edu.in

8187002456

11

Bhavya Gour

bhavya.gaur@student.slsh.edu.in

7409111211

12

Jessica Thomas

Jessica.thomas@student.slsh.edu.in

9930216453

13

Bhavesh Goel

bhavesh_goel@student.slsh.edu.in

9652300525

14

Mahek Agarwal

mahek_agarwal@student.slsh.edu.in

7569898556

15

Vaibhav Suppal

vaibhav_suppal@student.slsh.edu.in

8570003389

16

Shraddha B

shraddha_baitmangalkar@student.slsh.edu.in

8511120960

17

Mohd. Asrar Ahmed

mohammed_asrar_ahmed_maaz@student.slsh.edu.in

91777738886