CBF

Centre for Banking and Finance(CBF)





ABOUT THE CENTRE:

Centre for Banking and Finance is a student-run forum of Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad with the objective to promote knowledge and awareness about this rapidly flourishing field of law. It aims to provide a platform to all aspiring lawyers to develop their research and advocacy skills in the field of banking and finance.



OBJECTIVE:

The primary vision of the Centre is to encourage study and research in the Banking law and Finance Law. It is going to focus on disseminating ideas and promoting research through a large network of competition professionals such as regulators, academicians, practitioners, industry experts and students. It also aims at:

  • To act as a platform and engage bankers, lawyers, policy makers, regulators and academia in exchange of ideas and capacity building.

  • To offer advisory solution on related issues.

  • To focus on important aspects of banking and financial laws so as to generate newinsights of scholarly value and policy relevance.

  • To work in close association regulators like RBI, SEBI, CCI and other bodies like National Stock Exchange (NSE), Institute of Banking and Finance (IFBI), Institute of Corporate Affairs (IICA), Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI) and Institute of Charted Accountants of India (ICIA).

  • Capacity Building initiatives in the discipline.

  • Providing a Platform for research, training and consultation in the domain of Banking and Finance Law.

  • Providing a platform for students to interact with field experts in the field of Banking and Finance Laws and to grab the opportunities in this developing field of law.



Members

Faculty –in- charge

  • Mr. Avinash Singh
    Assitant Professor, Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad

  • Email : avinash.singh@slsh.edu.in

Official Email-id / website of Centre :

cbf@slsh.edu.in

Instagram :https://www.instagram.com/cbf.slsh/

Linkedin :https://www.linkedin.com/in/centre-for-banking-and-finance-4012451b1/



List of Members


SNO

NAME

DESIGNATION

EMAIL ID

1

Ayushi Verma

President

ayushi.v@student.slsh.edu.in

2

Prachi Malpani

Vice-President

Prachi.malpani@student.slsh.edu.in

3

Shloka Rasal

Secretary

shloka.rasal@student.slsh.edu.in

4

Gauravjeet Sokhi

Advisory Member (Founder)

Gauravjeet.sokhi@slsh.edu.in

5

Barkha Shravani

Advisory Member (Founder)

Barkha.shravani@slsh.edu.in

6

Amitoj Singh

Advisory Member (Founder)

amitoj.singh@slsh.edu.in

7

Ankita Kar

Advisory Member

Ankita.kar@slsh.edu.in

8

Aditya Gurjar

Advisory Member

Aditya.gurjar@slsh.edu.in

9

Ohmkar Vishal Ramesh

Advisory Member

vishal.ohmkar@slsh.edu.in

10

Varshinee Appula

Member

varshinee.s@student.slsh.edu.in

11

Mohit Kumar

Member

mohit.kumar@student.slsh.edu.in

12

Radhika

Member

radhika@student.slsh.edu.in

13

Keerthi Chowdary

Member

keerthi_chowdary_.a@student.slsh.edu.in

14

Dibyashree Roy

Member

dibyashree_roy@student.slsh.edu.in

15

Shweta Singh

Member

shweta_singh@student.slsh.edu.in

16

Siddhi Gupta

Member

Siddhi.gupta@student.slsh.edu.in

17

Joseph Antony Padikkala

Member

joseph.antony@student.slsh.edu.in

18

Rohit Sharma

Member

sharma.rohit@student.slsh.edu.in

19

Shreya S.

Member

shreya.s@student.slsh.edu.in

20

Afsana Khan

Member

afsana.khan@student.slsh.edu

21

Sakshi Gautam Singh

Member

sakshi.gautam@student.slsh.edu.in

22

Hiya Sonchhatra

Member

hiya.sonchhatra@student.slsh.edu.in



ACTIVITIES, EVENTS AND ACHIEVEMENTS

  • VALUE ADDED COURSE ON CAPITAL MARKET PRACTICE

    This program organised by the Centre, provided a comprehensive understanding of Capital Market in Indian and International markets. The course equiped the students with necessary theoretical and practical know-how and provided them with an academic base so that they can apply the same careers in capital markets. This course fulfilled the objective of providing all relevant tools and techniques to understand the various facets of the capital market covering practical exposure. It was executed by respected Mrs. Debolina Saha Narayana, a dual qualified lawyer (England and Wales and India) and the founder of “Internship Bank” (www.internshipbank.org), previously a Senior Associate at Dorsey & Whitney, Senior Legal Counsel (APAC Region) at Cantor Fitzgerald and an Associate at Allen &Overy.


  • NATIONAL WEBINAR: ASSESSING THE COVID-19 IMPACT ON THE BANKING AND FINANCIAL SECTOR AND THE WAY AHEAD

    Center for Banking and Finance came up with this webinar- a relatively new concept, aiming to involve a thorough discussion regarding the impact of Covid-19 on the Banking and financial sector including the issues faced by the banking & finance industry, measures and reliefs taken by the government and nodal agencies and the way forward. The webinar also included a brief idea about all the legal and regulatory changes and incentives made in the banking sector in light of the pandemic, things to look forward to in terms of market activity in banking space once lockdown eases and pandemic improves and also the kind of restructuring we can look at. The terminal part of the Webinar saw a detailed presentation of the actions the Reserve Bank of India has taken, as a response to the Covid-19 crisis in India, how it can be unconventional and localised in the future and how will these decisions affect the economy and the banking sector. This webinar was graced by notable speakers like Mr. Abir Lal Dey, Partner, Luthra & Luthra, Mr. Rohit Raghavan, partner, Luthra & Luthra and Mr. Anand K Singh, Assistant Professor, NLU, Jodhpur.


  • ONLINE INTERNSHIP OPPORTUNITY ON BANKING AND FINANCE LAWS

    In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic and the government restrictions across the country, most law students were struggling to find internship opportunities to enhance their legal and practical knowledge in the field. The increasing rate of cases in the country made sure that physical internships were hard to fetch. Center for Banking and Finance, hence came up with an opportunity to provide the students, both internal and external, the opportunity to do internships from the comfort and safety of their homes. Our internship was primarily research based wherein the students were expected to research and write papers, articles and case notes on the topics related to Banking and Finance, capital markets, bankruptcy restructuring, due diligence etc.