CAIL

Centre for Advancement of International Law



ABOUT THE CENTRE:

Centre for Advancement of International Law (CAIL) is dedicated to foster international law. Today, we are living in a globalized world where every State is bound by international norms concerning not only international cooperation but also for international trade & commerce, international transport, maritime along with international relations with other States. International law or Law of Nations not only regulates cooperation between Nations but, it also has a great influence on common people concerning business, migration, terrorism, human-rights etc where international law comes to rescue. The Centre aims to promote and create awareness among not only law students but also other stakeholders. Centre for Advancement of International Law (CAIL) provides a unique platform to Scholars, Academicians, Research organizations and students to discusses legal challenges and research to achieve greater benefits. We believe in oneness as our motto is vasudhaiva kutumbakam which means justice, rationality, and order must prevail in a Just society.


OBJECTIVE:

  • To promote International law.

  • To foster research on various international areas.

  • To acquaint students with the dynamic nature of International Law by way of peer-to-peer discussions.

  • To organize competitions, seminars, conferences, guest lectures and research projects in fields of International Law.

  • To initiate collaboration with various centres and organizations across India and abroad to explore this field of law in further depth.



Faculty –in- charge

  • Dr. Shailendra Kumar
    Assistant Professor of Law

  • 9831392831

Email :

shailendra.kumar@slsh.edu.in



Centre Email :

ilac@slsh.edu.in



OUR TEAM:

List of Members


SNO NAME BATCH EMAIL ID
1 Shivam Mishra 2016-21 shivam.mishra@slsh.edu.in
2 Chaitanya G. Tripathi 2016-21 chaitanya.tripathi@slsh.edu.in
3 Jay Mehta 2017-22 jay.mehta@student.slsh.edu.in
4 Prabhan Patel 2017-22 prabhan.patel@student.slsh.edu.in
5 Anusha Mohapatra 2018-23 anusha_mohapatra@student.slsh.edu.in
6 Harshit Singh 2018-23 harshit_singh@student.slsh.edu.in.
7 Kshipra Subramanian Iyer 2018-23 kshipra_subramanian_iyer@student.sls.edu.in
8 Devansh Mishra 2019-24 devansh.mishra@student.slsh.edu.in
9 Nishkarsh Kumar Pharswal 2019-24 nishkarsh.kumar@student.slsh.edu.in
10 Shrusti Mulgund 2019-24 shrusti.mulgund@student.slsh.edu.in
11 Aarushi Utpal 2019-24 aarushi.utpal.dey@student.slsh.edu.in
12 Aanjana Sasidharan 2019-24 aanjana.s@student.slsh.edu.in
13 Niyati Mohanti 2019-24 niyati.mohanti@student.slsh.edu.in
14 Sandra Maria Jim 2019-24 sandra.maria@student.slsh.edu.in
15 Sumedha S Vadhulas 2019-24 sumedha.vadhulas@student.slsh.edu.in



ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY THE CENTRE:

  1. The Centre organised its first-ever quiz, based on the module of CHASE, a reality TV quiz show, on the 3rd of October, 2019. The quiz was centred around various topics of international law, including laws regarding outer space, gender sensitisation, criminal law, the United Nations, etc.


    PICTURE FROM THE EVENT


    Participants during the quiz.



  2. The Judgment Deliberation Competition organised by the Centre for Advancement of International Law was organised and held on the 14th of August, 2019. The objective behind the event was to create an environment of debate and discussion amongst the students about the recent International Court of Justice’s (ICJ) judgment on the death penalty order in the Kulbhushan Jadhav case raging between India and Pakistan.




  3. Guest Lecture on International Criminal Law and Faculty Development Programme was organised by the Centre on 22nd and 23rd February 2019. The Guest Speaker for the day was Dr Saroj Rajan, visiting scholar and the ICCR India Chair, visiting professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law.


    PICTURE FROM THE EVENT


    Guest speaker Dr. Saroj Ranjan with Mrs. Ambrina Khan, Mr.Panjak Umbarkar and CAIL team.



  4. Group Discussion on the topic “Impact of Rafale Deal on Upcoming Lok Sabha Elections,” was organized by the Centre on 12th February 2019.




  5. Seminar on International Maritime Law and Arbitration was organised by the Centre on 14th September 2018. The Guest Speaker for the day was Mr VJ Mathew, Senior Advocate at High Court of Kerala, Founder of VJ Mathew & Co., Kochi, Vice- President of Indian Maritime Board and the Chairman of Kerala Maritime Board.


    PICTURE FROM THE EVENT


    Chief guest Mr V.J. Mathew with Mr Pankaj Umbarkar.



  6. Statute-Reboot was organised by the Centre from23rd to 24th July 2018. The event received an overwhelming 20 registrations in one day of releasing the form, from all batches of 2018-23, 2017-22, 2016-21, and 2015-20. The students were supposed to present their ideas and amendments to the chosen statutes (UN Charter/ Geneva Convention Protocol I/ Kyoto Protocol) by way of articles, PowerPoint presentations, skits, etc.


    PICTURE FROM THE EVENT


    Statute Reboot- Participants presenting before the Panel



  7. Netflix and Debate was organized by the Centre on 27th and 28th March 2018. It was the first internal debate on International Law by the Centre. The teams had to debate on a motion based on an episode from a famous Netflix show, by analyzing its legal, economical, political, moral, philosophical and social aspects on an international-themed forum.


    PICTURE FROM THE EVENT


    Opening Ceremony of Netflix and Debate


ACHIEVEMENTS:

Centre for Advancement in International Law (CAIL) was a Chapter in International Law Students Association (ILSA). ILSA is a non-profit association of students and lawyers dedicated to the promotion of international law. It provides students with opportunities to study, research, and network in the international legal arena.