CRDA

The Centre for rights of Differently Abled (CRDA)


About the Centre

The Centre for the Rights of Differently Abled aims to provide and improve the academic material for the rights of differently abled. It dreamed to create a better place for the differently abled person in the society to lead a dignified life. The vision and mission of the centre is to conduct the academic activities across and attain the height of social sustainability. In order to achieve this, the centre will undertake research activities to understand the issues and challenges facing by differently abled persons and it will also collaborate with various organisations including NGO’s in this process. The Centre will act as a catalyst for the rehabilitation of differently abled persons with the help of various NGO’s and assistance from the Government.


Aims/ Objectives of the Cell/Centre

  • To sensitize the students and society about the rights of differently abled persons.
  • To understand the issues and challenges of differently abled persons and to impart knowledge about legal and policy measures devised for their welfare.
  • To act as a catalyst in understanding and creating a responsible civil society for the differently abled persons
  • To carry out research on legal and policy developments on disability rights whereby recommendations to the welfare of disabled.
  • To reach out to the persons with disabilities through community outreach programme to ensure and promote community participation.
  • To collaborate with various NGO’s to fulfil the objective of ensuring a better life for the differently abled persons by protecting and promoting their rights and interests.

Faculty-in-Charge

  • Mr. Pankaj Prakashrao Umbarkar, Assistant Professor, Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad

Official Email-id of Centre : crda@slsh.edu.in


List of members with official Email id only:

SI. NO.

NAME

EMAIL ID

1

Romi Kumari

romi.kumari@student.slsh.edu.in

2

Aditi Nagesh

aditi.nagesh@student.slsh.edu.in

3

Rachita Somya

rachita.somya@student.slsh.edu.in

4

Swadhin Khatua

swadhin_khatua@student.slsh.edu.in

5

Riya Sinha

riya.sinha@student.slsh.edu.in

6

Saumya Badigineni

saumya_badigineni@student.slsh.edu.in

7

Rimsha

rimsha@student.slsh.edu.in

8

Krati Garg

krati.garg@slsh.edu.in

9

Akshara Kamath

akshara.kamath@student.slsh.edu.in

10

Tressa Maria Joseph

maria.joesph@slsh.edu.in

11

Raaj Mohan

raaj.mohan@student.slsh.edu.in

12

Ananya Ajay

ananyaa.ajay@student.slsh.edu.in

13

Bhavana Madireddy

lakshmi.bhavana@slsh.edu.in

14

Purvi Morwal

purvi.morwal@slsh.edu.in

15

Samruddhi Shetty

samruddhi.s.shetty@student.slsh.edu.in

16

Ankita Kar

ankita.kar@slsh.edu.in

17

Anushree Belwariar

anushree_belwariar@student.slsh.edu.in

18

Wagisha

wagisha@slsh.edu.in

19

Bhoomika S. Kumar

bhoomika_s_kumar@student.slsh.edu.in

20

Arijit Nayak

arijit.nayak@student.slsh.edu.in

21

Srishti Sneha

srishti.sneha@student.slsh.edu.in


Activities conducted by the Centre

  1. 1. COLLOQUY- III

    COLLOQUY is a series of talk show to create awareness regarding disability and related issues. COLLOQUY 3 took place during the road safety week (11th- 17th January), which aims to educate students about disabilities which are caused during road accidents and makethem aware of the precautions to be taken while travelling on the roads. This event was helpful in understanding the problems and stereotypes faced by disabled. The event was also amied to make students aware about ways to tackle the disability and move ahead in life.

    (Shri Shanmukha Rao Dharmana while addressing the gathering)

    (Our guest Harsha Karamchati addressing the gathering)


  2. 2. ONE DAY WORKSHOP ON VIOLENCE ON WOMEN WITH DISABILITIES IN COLLABORATION SRUTI DISABILITY CENTRE, KOLKATA

    The Centre for the Rights of Differently Abled (CRDA), a research based centre of Symbiosis Law School Hyderabad (SLS-H), is proud to report that on 15th of February, 2020, the CRDA team successfully conducted One Day Workshop on Violence on women with disabilities in collaboration with Sruti Disability Centre, Kolkata at Symbiosis Law School-Hyderabad campus.

    (A group photo with Director, Faculty in charge, guests and participants)

    (Ms. Shampa Sen Gupta)

    (Mr. Pavan Muntha)

    (Ms. Srinidhi Rghavan)


  3. 3. Webinar on The Rights of Differently Abled during Covid-19: Issues and Concerns

    The Centre hosted a Webinar on May 16th, 2020 at 6:00PM on the topic, “The Rights of Differently Abled During Covid-19: Issues and Concerns” to sensitise the public regarding the difficulties the differently abled face during these challenging circumstances and what can be done to make things better.

    (Mr. Maitreya Shah)

    (Mr. Narsing Rao Bongurala)

    (Ms. Shampa Sen Gupta)


Achievements

Publications

  1. Research paper: An Empirical Study on Disability Rights by Bhavana, Akshara Kamath, Saumya, Arijit and Askhay Jain, published in Volume 1 Issue III of Lexforti Legal Journal (ISSN 2582-2942)

  2. Research paper: An Analytical Study on accessibility for persons with Disability in India by Riya Sinha, Waghisa and Ankita Kar, published in Volume 1 Issue III of Lexforti Legal Journal (ISSN 2582-2942).

Collaboration and MOU (Memorandum of Understanding)

  1. The Centre has collaborated with Sruti Disability Centre, Kolkata to conduct one workshop to sensitize students about disability issues and rights in the Month February

  2. The Centre has also signed memorandum of understanding with Sruti Disability Centre, Kolkata to further collaborate in future to conduct surveys, workshop, seminars, conferences and share data related to disabled so that both could research on it.